Concealed Carry State Laws In Ohio
Concealed carry laws, or CCW’s, in Ohio refers to the legally issued permit which allows for the carrying of a handgun or other weapon in a concealed manner within any place open to the general public.
Not all weapons that fall under concealed carry state laws in Ohio are lethal, there are some states that regulate non-lethal items such a pepper spray that are carried over a set volume requiring the obtaining of a CCW permit. (In some states non-lethal items require a separate permit)
Every State's Concealed Carry Laws Are Unique In Ohio
While in Ohio there is no current federal law that specifically address the issuance of concealed carry permits for private citizens as each state is responsible for the control of concealed carry permits within its sovereign borders. All 50 states have passed laws allowing their respective residents to carry certain concealed firearms in public, either without a permit or after obtaining a permit from their local Sheriff’s office or Chief of police.
In all states and in Ohio the only federal law concerning CCW’s is the Peace Officer Safety Act of 2004, (H.R. 218) to lean about this and all other states Concealed Carry Laws see our database on our website US Precision Defense where we maintain a comprehensive listing of every States weapons laws.
In The State of Ohio, a Constitutional Provision states: “The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security; but standing armies, in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be kept up; and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power.”
The Ohio constitution acknowledges the right to keep and bear arms. Ohio law provides very few additional restrictions on gun ownership and transactions than the restrictions provided by Federal Law. Ohio gun law relates mostly with the carrying and transportation of guns. In April 2004, Ohio's concealed carry statute went into effect. The law (Ohio Revised Code [O.R.C.] 2923.12, et seq.) allows persons 21 and older to receive a concealed handgun license provided that they receive a minimum of 12 hours of handgun training (10 hours of classroom instruction and 2 hours of range time) from a certified instructor, demonstrate competency with a handgun through written and shooting tests, pass a criminal background check, and meet certain residency requirements.
In researching all of the states CCW permitting procedures US Precision Defense staff all agree that the procedure that Ohio had adopted in one of the best in the county. It provides for both adequate class room and range time coupled with both written and shooting testing along with a criminal background investigation, These type of certification procedures assures that a CCW holder has good initial training and provides the public with the knowledge that the state is providing CCW permits at a high professional level. We supports all states that require adequate range shooting time and testing.
Currently, Ohio's concealed carry (CCW) law allows for reciprocity with other states with "substantially comparable" statutes, and to date Ohio has reciprocity with 23 other states. These states include: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
US Precision Defense has a complete database of firearms instructors, Shooting ranges, and gun smiths from all across the country. Go to our “home” page and see all the other features that that we offer to our membership.
Open carry is lawful in Ohio and comes with less preliminary requirements than a concealed handgun licensee must go through in order to carry a firearm. However, open carry in Ohio by an individual who is not also licensed to carry a concealed firearm comes with many possible legal issues that must be clearly understood. Most notably is the fact that in order to enter any motor vehicle an individual who is in “open carry” must unload the firearm to be able to legally and properly transport it. A concealed handgun licensee is permitted to have a loaded handgun in a vehicle. With the recent adoption of restaurant carry in Ohio while open carry is "lawful" within a restaurant it is only permitted by a person who is licensed to carry a concealed handgun. Walking into a Class-D establishment with a visible firearm and no license to carry is illegal in Ohio. It is imperative that one is very familiar with the law or you could face a fine or worse, be arrested.
Ohio is a traditional open carry state. Recently, the Ohio legislature passed HB-12 over Governor Taft’s veto, thus preempting all local open carry bans even in Ohio’s “home rule” localities. Unfortunately, despite passage of HB-12, a permit to conceal a firearm is still required to openly carry a handgun in a vehicle.
June, 2013: Republican lawmakers have introduced a new wave of legislation that would continue to expand gun rights in the state of Ohio. Among some of the proposed changes are measures that would allow public officials to carry firearms in the Statehouse and other "non-secured" public buildings, the measure would also ban law enforcement from melting down confiscated guns and it would also loosen the state's definition of what is an "automatic firearm."
The concealed carry (CCW) law in Ohio passed in 2004. By 2012, more than 250,000 Ohioans have Concealed Carry permits within the state.
In response to the ongoing debate in the US congress about gun control and the second amendment rights it appears that the 88 different Sheriffs Offices in Ohio have quite a difference of opinion which can all be found on their individual websites, you are encouraged to do your research to see how your local Sheriff plans to protect your second amendment rights.
US Precision Defense maintains an on-line store, reciprocity maps, and a members only section with shooting reports and videos.