North Dakota Gun Laws

North Dakota Gun Laws

North Dakota State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Always Consult An Attorney                 

Rifles & Shotguns Handguns
Permit to Purchase NO NO
Registration of Firearms NO NO
Licensing of Owners NO NO
Permit to Carry NO  NO*

Governor Burgum signed the bill authorizing Constitutional Concealed Carry in North Dakota, but the new law does not take effect until August 1, 2017.  Do not carry concealed without a license before the law takes effect.

Requirements

(effective August 1, 2017) Following are the eligibility requirements for an individual to carry concealed in North Dakota without a concealed weapon license:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age.
    • Must be 21 to purchase a handgun, but may possess at 18 in North Dakota provided individual is legally able to possess a firearm under the law.
  • Must be a resident of North Dakota for 1 year as evidenced by ND driver license or ND ID card.
  • Not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.
    • Examples of prohibitions from possession of a firearm:*
      • Felony conviction
      • Conviction for a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence (disorderly conduct)
      • Misdemeanor conviction involving violence with the use of a weapon
      • User of drugs or addicted to drugs
      • Dishonorable discharge from the military
      • Renounced US citizenship/Illegal alien
      • Protection order against you
      • Fugitive from justice
      • Right to possess a firearm removed by the courts
      • Right to possess a firearm removed by a mental health or treatment issue
  • ND driver license or ND ID card must be carried (or the individual must have a digital image or the license).
  • If carrying under this provision, the individual MUST inform law enforcement that they are in possession of the firearm upon any in-person contact by a law enforcement officer.
  • Restrictions on location (places) that a firearm may be possessed or carried by law (N.D.C.C. Title 62.1) still apply.

* An individual may be prohibited for other reasons. Please consult an attorney in private practice.

Constitutional Carry and Reciprocity

Constitutional Carry only allows concealed carry of a firearm within the boundaries of North Dakota. You will need a concealed weapon license to carry concealed outside ND. Reciprocity with other states applies only if you possess a valid concealed weapon license.

Duty to retreat before using Deadly force outside of Special Places YES
Crimes Justifying use of Deadly Force outside of Special Places Violent Felonies
Duty to Retreat when occupying special Places - Special places Mentioned in Statute such as Home, Workplace, Occupied Vehicle No, unless assailant had the right to be in special placee - Home, place of work, occupied motorhome or travel trailer
Presumption of Reasonableness in Special Places - Unlawful Acts justifying use of Deadly Force in Special Places Yes - Arson, burglary, robbery, or a felony involving violence (Kidnapping)
Immunity from Civil liability YES
Notable Provisions of this State's Self-Defense Law N/A

How To Obtain A Concealed Carry Permit In North Dakota

The Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) processes applications for concealed weapon licenses and issues the licenses. The BCI is prohibited from providing information about the status of an application for a concealed weapon license, even to the applicant.

This link is it to the State Website with the application process, and all associated forms, CLICK HERE: