Missouri Gun Laws

Missouri Gun Laws


Missouri State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Always Consult An Attorney                            

   

Rifles & Shotguns Handguns
Permit to Purchase NO NO
Registration of Firearms NO NO
Licensing of Owners NO NO
Permit to Carry NO NO Permit Required

 

Permit to Carry Handguns Note: No permit is necessary to carry a concealed handgun if the person is at least 19 years of age or eighteen years of age and a member of the United States Armed Forces, or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, and is not otherwise prohibited from carrying a firearm. Right-to-Carry Laws Note: It is not unlawful to carry a concealed handgun if the person is at least 19 years of age or 18 years of age or older and a member of the United States Armed Forces, or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, and is not otherwise prohibited from carrying a firearm.

(The 2016 law, SB 656, changing the conceal carry requirements leaves intact the conceal carry permitting system for persons who wish to participate in reciprocal concealed carry permit agreements when traveling to other states.) 

     

Duty to retreat before using Deadly force outside of Special Places

Best to retreat, the law is very confusing

Crimes Justifying use of Deadly Force outside of Special Places

Forcible felonies: Murder, robbery, burglary, arson, kidnapping, assault, and any forcible sexual offense

Duty to Retreat when occupying special Places - Special places Mentioned in Statute such as Home, Workplace, Occupied Vehicle

No - Dwelling, Residence or Occupied Vehicle

Presumption of Reasonableness in Special Places - Unlawful Acts justifying use of Deadly Force in Special Places

No - Unlawful attempt or entry into dwelling, residence or occupied vehicle

Immunity from Civil liability

Be Careful! There are conflicting statues.

Notable Provisions of this State's Self-Defense Law

Very technical rule for defending residence; it is strongly suggested not using deadly force unless there is an imminent threat of bodily force even in your home

     

   

How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Missouri

The state of Missouri is a “Shall issue” state. Permitless carry took effect on January 1, 2017. For interstate recipocity you will still need to obtian a CCW permit from your local Sheriff's Department. CLICK HERE

 

RECIPROCITY NOTES:  Virginia and Florida recognize a Missouri permit if the permit-holder is 21 years old or older; Wisconsin recognizes Missouri permits issued or renewed after 8/28/13; and Colorado, Florida, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire and South Carolina recognize Missouri RESIDENT permits ONLY; CONCEALED CARRY RECIPROCITY